Skip to content

Without a Head (part 5)

April 22, 2013

images

 

The Idea

“You just gave me an idea.  We could put his head on Ebay.”

“I think we’ll get more for it if it’s shrunk or we can leave it like it as is and charge them more if they want it shrunk,” she said as she brushed his teeth.

“I don’t want to sell it at all,” I said, handing her floss.

“I hate to just throw the damn thing out, after all he’s been through a lot to get like this,’ she shouted as she turned his head upside down and put her keys in it.

“We’re not going to toss it either.  We’ll take a picture of his head, put if up for sale on Ebay and if people bid on it, one of them could be the killer.”

“I bet if we take it to a tanning parlor we could get more for it.  How much do you think it’ll go for?” she asked, catching her keys that fell out his nose.

“I don’t know…what do you think it’s worth?”

“I’m not sure, but I know we could over charge for shipping and handling, they always do that.”  She picked up her keys, and then balanced his head on her head. “Now I’m a head taller than myself,” she joked.
“What am I thinking?  We’ll just put it out there and let the market decide.  All we need is a couple of bids and maybe we’ll find his killer.”

She nodded her head, and his head fell off of hers.  Fortunately I was able to catch it before she could punt it.

After several poses, hair styles, back drops, and lighting changes we had a picture we liked and posted it on Ebay and then waited.  It wasn’t long before we had our first bid, which was just a nickel over our twenty dollar reserve.  A few minutes later we had another bid that beat out the first bid by over a buck.

Using the doctor’s computer, Agnes put in counter bids driving the price up.  The second bidder kept upping his price.  When his bid reached four hundred we decided to stop bidding and take his offer.   Using Pay Pal we made the deal and he gave us an address to send the head.

We were pretty sure he was the killer not only did he live nearby, but who else would have paid the extra dough for over night delivery?  I had a friend who collected mail delivery service outfits and mail vans.  I borrowed both and with Agnes hiding in the back in a large box surrounded in bubble wrap we were going to make this delivery extra special.

The Delivery

At eleven that morning, dressed like a man in a perfect fitting overnight delivery service outfit–matching socks and all, I knocked on the door, holding a square box with the Doc’s head in it.  There wasn’t any answer. While I debated if I should leave it with out getting a signature, the door opened and two people dressed as a horse emerged.

“Delivery for Kevin Aldridge,” I said with authority.

“This is him,” said a voice from inside the horse, pretty sure it was from the front end.

“You need to sign for this,” I insisted.

“Okay, give me a minute.” He lifted his left hand out of the front hoof and signed for the box.

Good thing I’d had plenty of experience with people dressing as horses before, (I worked in costume store, (Equus Caballus being my specialty) because I was ready with a response.  “I’ll need to see some I.D.”

“Okay, give me a minute.  I left my wallet in my donkey outfit,” he said, as they galloped back into house.  A few minutes later a vapor of man who looked better as a horse floated to the door, and with his hand shaking flipped open his wallet and the driver’s license skidded into view.   It was him alright, but he didn’t look like the kind of man who dresses in a horse’s outfit, cuts off someone’s head and then tosses the body through a window, but nowadays who does? Then again, looks can be deceiving, especially when you’re licking a sugar cube.

I handed him the box.

Not even waiting for me to turn or leave, he tore off the ribbon, started to rip the cardboard apart, then after shaking the pop corn filler of its face, he spun it around a few times, before dribbling through a toothy smile.  “Oh, yeah, this baby will look good on my resume,” he squealed.

“Resume?” Agnes shouted all the way from the truck.

“What’s with the head I asked? Who is it?” I said, hoping he’d trap himself.

“Who cares? It’s perfect. Perfect. Perfect. Perfect.”

“Perfect. Perfect. Perfect for what?” I said, hoping to get an answer I could understand.

“Does it matter? Does it really matter? We’re all here for such a short time. ” He looked at me like I had answered the same true and false question wrong twice.

By now Agnes, still trying to unwind the bubble wrap that was covering her face, stood next to me.  “Did you kill him?” she asked subtly.

“No, I was flossing, but I know who did,” he said innocently as he scooped up a handful of sugar cubes from his girlfriend who just arrived, dressed like a male lion impersonator.

Maybe it was instinct, but I had a feeling something strange was going on here that somehow seemed familiar. Before I could express my inner confusion, I found a gun pointed at my head.

“Inside,” the voice said without asking us to wipe our feet.  It wasn’t the horse guy or his female male lion friend that was doing the talking.  No, this guy was a bit strange.  From above the waist he was dressed like Snoopy, below that he was all FDR, wheelchair with out arm rests and all.

“Step inside. Our casa is your casa, as long as we don’t have to blow your brains out with a nebulizer. You know I was never fond of Truman, he never once mentioned Peanuts during his 1948 campaign.”

I’m willing to give most guys a break, but this group was taking weird to the limit and testing my knowledge of presidential politics.  While I was thinking that we were into something that wasn’t going to turn out well, I was also wondering what row in Ford’s theater Lincoln sat in and if it was up front, was he wearing his hat. Agnes was able to distract the bad beings by popping some of the plastic bubbles.  She ran out of the house, into the van and barely made it away while she tried to attach her hands’ free phone cord to her cell.

End Part 5

From → Oddball Stories

48 Comments
  1. Scott Broom permalink

    That horse guy is really happy over the head, must need someone to talk too haha and ebay, great way to catch the killer.

    • Thank You, but it even gets wilder in the next installment. And I thank you for following the story. It shows that you are as sick as I am, which, to me, is a good thing.

  2. With all that shipping and handling the head might feel a bit used and abused. But the horse dude sure seemed amused.

  3. I all the time emailed this weblog post
    page to all my friends, as if like to read it afterward my friends will too.

  4. First off I would like to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear
    your head before writing. I’ve had a hard time clearing my
    mind in getting my thoughts out. I do enjoy writing
    but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to
    be lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin.

    Any suggestions or hints? Appreciate it!

    • Thank You. Most of the time, I go through all the same negative thoughts, sometimes even worse. When that happens I usually try to start reading what I wrote the day before and hope that warms me up. Other times I’ll start working on something I did before and see if I can improve it, or find typos. Otherwise I try to accept all the negativity and plow on hoping just to get the structure down, no matter how bad the language is. Of course there are times it just flows out of me. And there are the times I just throw in the towel and come back later that today or the next. Good luck and keep plugging away.

  5. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this weblog and
    I’m impressed! Very useful info specially the ultimate
    section 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this certain info for
    a very lengthy time. Thank you and good luck.

  6. (Many of the best flavours work well beyond simple potentiation of nerve cells.
    Season the beef roast with salt and pepper as desired.
    Impress Your Family and Friends With Exact Replicas of The Following Recipes:
    .

  7. What’s up, I check your blogs on a regular basis. Your humoristic style
    is awesome, keep up the good work!

    • Thank you so much. I have to post some other things soon. I have a very long zombie story that has to be cut up into segments. I’ve just been to lazy.

  8. No matter how late you are to an appointment or how tempting it is do not pace.
    And when you do, you’ve to remind your teen the following recommendations.
    If there is a safety device you get a discounted. http://desty.Iisweb.co.kr/xe/?mid=pub&page=1&document_srl=50215

  9. You’re so interesting! I do not think I have read through something like that before.
    So wonderful to discover another person with genuine thoughts on this subject.
    Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This site is something that’s needed
    on the internet, someone with some originality!

  10. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought
    this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    • I’m far from famous. I just write and see what happens. If you get a chance please check out my book Standup Guys:A Generation of Laughs. It’s a different style of writing but if you want to know what being a standup comic was like in the last 70’s and 80’s it’s a fun read. Again thank you and please spread the word. I’m going to try and put my zombie piece up. It’s 75 pages so I have to split it up.

  11. Howdy I am so happy I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was looking on Bing for something else, Regardless I am here
    now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a remarkable post and a all
    round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your
    RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

    • Thank you. I have no idea how it got on Bing. I didn’t design the site and never much thought about how it appears, but I’m certainly glad you like it. Thanks for reading.

  12. I see a lot of interesting articles on your page. You have to spend a lot of time writing,
    i know how to save you a lot of work, there is
    a tool that creates unique, google friendly articles in couple of seconds,
    just search in google – laranita’s free content source

  13. This is really interesting, You are an excessively professional blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and stay up for searching for extra of your wonderful post.

    Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks

  14. I think that what you published made a lot of sense. However, think about this, suppose you typed a
    catchier post title? I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your blog, but what if you added
    a post title that makes people desire more? I mean Without a Head (part 5)
    | The 920 Spot is kinda plain. You should glance at Yahoo’s home page and
    note how they create article titles to grab people interested.
    You might try adding a video or a related pic or two to get people interested
    about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it could make your blog
    a little bit more interesting.

  15. Can I simply just say what a comfort to discover a person that
    actually understands what they’re discussing on the web.
    You actually realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important.

    More and more people need to check this out and understand this side of the
    story. I was surprised you aren’t more popular given that you most certainly possess the gift.

  16. I always spent my half an hour to read this
    web site’s content daily along with a cup of coffee.

  17. Hi there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

  18. It is not my first time to pay a visit this site, i am browsing this site dailly and
    get pleasant data from here all the time.

  19. Hello my friend! I want to say that this article is amazing, great written and
    come with almost all vital infos. I’d like
    to look extra posts like this .

  20. We stumbled over here by a different web address
    and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page again.

  21. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to
    say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope
    you write again very soon!

  22. We stumbled over here coming from a different web address
    and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.

    Look forward to looking at your web page for
    a second time.

  23. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Annyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  24. GHG new automatic hair curler
    Hola! I’ve been following your blog for a while now and
    finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Tx!
    Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic job!

  25. This article provides clear idea for the new people of blogging,
    that genuinely how to do blogging.

  26. I read this piece of writing completely concerning the resemblance
    of newest and earlier technologies, it’s amazing article.

  27. Hello there, You’ve done an excellent job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to
    my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

  28. fantastic points altogether, you simply gained a brand new reader.
    What would you suggest in regards to your put up that you just made some days ago?
    Any sure?

  29. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was
    a enjoyment account it. Look complex to far introduced agreeable from
    you! By the way, how can we keep up a correspondence?

    invitatii Nunta Bacau

  30. excellent issues altogether, you simply received a new reader.
    What may you recommend about your publish that you simply
    made some days ago? Any sure?

  31. Hi there Dear, are you really visiting this website
    on a regular basis, if so afterward you will definitely obtain pleasant
    know-how.

  32. Se vi capita di essere così conveniente non sarà
    possibile ottenere se stessi un e-book , puramentee navigare ssul world wide web .
    Se un giocatore nel cieco ha una medio-alta coppia in tasca
    , o una prima mano ddi livello , come AK , AQ , AJ , A10 , o anche un KQ suited e nessun grande puntate si è verificato , cche il cieco
    deve fare molto grande scommessa . Ho visto Aces rotto più volte di quanto io possa ricordare da un altro giocatore spericolato perché il giocatore con l’
    Aces ha gettato al vento la prudenza e ha rilanciato all – in contro
    altri 4 giocatori che hanno già chiamato un grosso rilancio e sono
    in mano molto pesante .

  33. It’s hard to come by experienced people on this subject, however, yoou seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  34. Thanks for every other informative website. The place else may I
    am getting that type of information written in such
    a perfect method? I have a undertaking that I am simply now
    running on, and I’ve been on the glance out for such
    info.

  35. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Taking
    the time and actual effort to make a great article… but what can I say… I procrastinate
    a whole lot and don’t seem to gget nearly anything done.

  36. This post and many other on your site are very interesting.

    You should show your content to bigger audience.
    There is a big chance to go viral. You need initial boost and visitors will
    flood your site in no time. Just search in google for:
    Juuri13 viral effect

  37. Great article. I will be dealing with many of these issues as well..

  38. It’s an remarkable piece of writing designed for all the internet users; they will obtain advantage from it I am sure.

  39. If you are going for most excellent contents like I do, simply visit
    this web site every day because it offers quality contents, thanks

  40. This is my first time go to see at here and i am truly impressed to read all at alone place.

Leave a comment